Leviticus: how to be holy

Overview of Leviticus

Leviticus free bible iconYou could sum up the book of Leviticus with God’s repeated command: “Be holy, as I am holy.” Leviticus is a book of laws, but it’s also a book of worship. This book is filled with details on how the people of God should live, eat, sacrifice, celebrate, and more. The name “Leviticus” refers to the many laws for the priests, all of whom belonged to the tribe of Levi.

Leviticus is the third movement in the Penteteuch (the five books of Moses), and picks up where Exodus leaves off. This children of Israel have just erected a tabernacle at Mount Sinai, and now the Lord is relaying specific laws through Moses to His people. There’s very little narrative in the book of Leviticus, but a few important things take place, such as Aaron’s ordination and the deaths of Aaron’s sons. The story of Israel’s journey to the promised land picks back up in the book of Numbers.

Theme verse of Leviticus

“Thus you are to be holy to Me, for I the LORD am holy; and I have set you apart from the peoples to be Mine.” (Le 20:26)

Bible verse art Leviticus 20.26

You can see a piece of art for each book of the Bible here, or you can check out other art by Laura Kranz.

Leviticus’ role in the Bible

Leviticus is about holiness (being set apart, separate)—both God’s holiness and the holiness He expects of His people.

Whereas Exodus displays God’s holiness on a cosmic scale (sending plagues on Egypt, parting the Red Sea, etc.), Leviticus shows us the holiness of God in fine detail. God spells out His expectations for His priests and people so that the congregation can appropriately worship and dwell with Him.

The call to holiness in Leviticus resounds throughout Scripture, both the Old and New Testaments. Parts of the Levitical law are fulfilled in Jesus Christ, such as distinctions between clean and unclean foods (Mark 7:18–19), but the call to holiness still stands—Peter even cites Leviticus when he encourages us to be holy in all our behavior (1 Peter 1:15–16).

Quick outline of Leviticus

  1. How to give offerings (Leviticus 1–7)
  2. Aaron and sons ordained (Leviticus 8–10)
  3. Cleanliness laws for the congregation (Leviticus 11–15)
  4. Atonement for sin (Leviticus 16–17)
  5. How to be a holy culture (Leviticus 18–27)

 More books related to Leviticus

Get one Bible book summary each week in a free email course

You can sign up to overviews like this one sent straight to your inbox each week. The email course will take you through every book of the Bible (one book per week) with contextual explanations, outlines, and illustrations. Just enter your email address below to get started.

[mc4wp_form id=”2970″]

Pin It on Pinterest